Hello Friends,

I am going to be talking about something not may people know about other than my family and a few friends regarding my past academic performance. I am currently a senior in college ( credit wise ), what I mean by that is I am a junior in my major but have enough credits to be a senior in the college.

As I talked about in a previous post as a freshman I was in the Apparel Program and switched to Cross-Media Graphics Management. My first semester in college was a rough one, I worked really hard but I put more work into my major classes than my generals and ended up on academic probation. Basically if I didn’t get my GPA up to a 2.0 in my next semester I would no longer be able to attend the college.

I do want to say before I continue I worked really hard my first semester, to the point I had so much anxiety I was very sick. Now the big question is how did I In one semester get an award? ( I got an award freshman year and this year).

How did I do it?

  • Switched to a major that fit me better
  • Avoided procrastination as much as possible
  • Plan
  • Ask for help when needed
  • Study sessions
  • Routine
  • Plenty of sleep and eating healthy
  • Attended class

These may seem like simple changes but they really weren’t, I had to set aside time outside of class to meet with my professors when they were available. I spent a lot of time getting help from my professors and on campus tutors and that took a lot of time but was worth it in the end. I also had to break bad habits such as procrastination and that was not easy at all, I really had to a set a schedule and plan out when I would complete assignments and ordered them by due date.

At the end of my second semester I received an academic award (Chancellors’s Award) and brought up my GPA past a 2.0. As I look back and see how far I have come since then I cant help but smile, I have officially brought my GPA up past a 3.0. Thats not all, my dad sent me a a picture of another academic award that I received for my performance in the Fall 2016 semester.

I couldn’t have done this without the support of my family, Alex, the Gieseke family and my friends! Thank you all for your support and love the past 3 years.

If I could give one piece of advice, do not give up and work hard. You will achieve and succeed in whatever you dream if you do those two things!

With Love,

Allison McKensey

