What does beauty really mean?

beau·ty

ˈbyo͞odē/

noun

noun: beauty; plural noun: beauties

  1. 1.
    a combination of qualities, such as shape, color, or form, that pleases the aesthetic senses, especially the sight.
    “I was struck by her beauty”
    • a combination of qualities that pleases the intellect or moral sense.
      synonyms: attractiveness, prettiness, good looks, comeliness, allure; More

      antonyms: ugliness
    • denoting something intended to make a woman more attractive.
      modifier noun: beauty
      “beauty products”
  2. 2.
    a beautiful or pleasing thing or person, in particular.
    • a beautiful woman.
      synonyms: beautiful woman, belle, vision, Venus, goddess, beauty queen, picture; More

    • an excellent specimen or example of something.
      “the fish was a beauty, around 14 pounds”
    • the pleasing or attractive features of something.
      “the beauties of the Pennsylvania mountains”
    • the best feature or advantage of something.
      
      "the beauty of keeping cats is that they don't tie you down"
      synonyms:
      advantage, attraction, strength, benefit, boon, blessing, good thing, strong point,virtue, merit, selling point
      "the beauty of this plan"

This is google’s meaning of beauty, I personally do not agree at all with their meaning of the word. They only really mention the “pleasing features” of a human being and their appearance. I know Beauty and Inner Beauty are two different things in google’s eyes but to me the word beauty alone should mean a persons inner beauty as well.

Beauty is a very sensitive subject for many people including me, I struggle with seeing my outside beauty and I always have. My freshman year of college was my best year when I think about the positivity and my body image. I lost a healthy amount of weight due to my diet and how active I was walking to classes and climbing stairs all the time. My acne was not as aggressive as it usually is and overall I just felt good about the way I looked and how I felt about myself.

It wasn’t till my sophomore year (this past year) that I found out exactly what foods I could eat without getting sick. I have a severe allergy to Monosodium Glutamate (MSG) also known as a food additive and recently found out soy protein and soy lecithin  as well. My diet changed drastically from eating salads and chicken my freshman year to eating more pasta and tacos along with that my sophomore year. I also wasn’t as physically active my sophomore year as I was my freshman year. All of these changes affected my body image, I gained weight and my dietary change affected my skin as well.

Being home for the summer I have noticed the changes more and its been harder to stay positive about my outer beauty. My clothes don’t fit like they normally would and I have had to go up sizes to be comfortable in my clothes which was a big deal for me as well as a reality check. There are days I look in the mirror and say wow I look good I am beautiful and I am worthy but there are also days where I am down on myself and my outer beauty is not enough as it is. I never want to say outer beauty is more important because that is not true at all! Inner beauty will always be the most important thing to me, but in order for me to reach my potential I need to also see myself as beautiful on the outside.

I am making multiple changes in order to be a healthier me, I am way happier when I eat healthy, exercise and spend time with my family and the first month or so of my summer I spent studying, eating junk food, sleeping and watching netflex. Yeah that is ok to do every once and a while but I did this almost everyday except the days I had to work. SO here are the steps I am going to start taking.

  • Food
    • Healthier choices
      • salads
      • grilled chicken
      • veggies and fruits
    • smaller servings
      • finishing a small serving rather than getting a large and not finishing it
    • limited amounts of sweets and snacks
  • Exercise
    • Walks
      • bella (dog)
      • park
      • 60 min
    • Workout Video
      • 15 min increments
      • 30 min increments
    • Bike Rides
      • Park reserve
      • downtown
  • Time With Family and Friends
    • Friends
      • beach
      • kayaking
      • bike rides
      • pool
      • walks
      • rainy day movies
    • Family
      • walks with the dog
      • movie nights
      • dinner together all 5 of us
      • Hike
      • visit the falls
      • go on an adventure
      •  talking
      • reading
All of these things are fairly simple and may not happen right away, but I want to try to be a happier, healthier more beautiful inside and out human being. By making these simple decisions I believe that I can become the strong woman I want to be!
Thank you for your love and support,
Allison Mckensey
