anx·i·e·ty
aNGˈzīədē/
noun
  1. a feeling of worry, nervousness, or unease, typically about an imminent event or something with an uncertain outcome.

For years I fought the fact that I have severe anxiety… It wasn’t till this year that I began to embrace my anxiety disorder. I have had many mornings where I have wanted to just lay in bed and hide away from the world ignoring my responsibilities. I know that giving in to that feeling would be letting my anxiety take complete control over me for that day. Now, did I fight the feeling of overwhelming anxiety? No instead I embraced it and took control by getting up and completing tasks one by one, hour by hour.

The Types of Anxiety Disorders 

Panic disorder. People who have this disorder often have feelings of terror that comes with no warning and can happen suddenly and repeatedly throughout the day.

Social anxiety disorder.  Is the feeling of  overwhelming worry and self-consciousness about everyday and sometimes simple social situations. This often comes from feelings of being judged or treated differently by others.

Specific phobias. These are intense fears of a specific object or situation, which could cause you to stray away from everyday events.

Generalized anxiety disorder. This is excessive, unrealistic worry and tension, even if there’s little or nothing to provoke the anxiety.

Many people live with the fact that they have anxiety and some would prefer to have a physical disability than a mental one. I have noticed that not many people talk about the causes and effects of anxiety, however recently a lot of videos are being shared through social media about this sensitive topic. The one that hit me the most was directed towards professors and what students who deal with anxiety want them to know. A friend of mine commented on my post when I shared it and called me an advocate for Anxiety Disorders.

ad·vo·cate
noun
ˈadvəkət/
  1. 1.
    a person who publicly supports or recommends a particular cause or policy.

I never thought of myself as an advocate being all I do is post about how my family and friends can help someone like myself who deals with anxiety every day of their life. As I think about it more I want to become an advocate and spread the word about the anxiety disorder that no many think about. So I am asking you, my readers, friends and family to challenge yourself. Watch this simple video I have linked below, think about you have watched and ways you can help a loved one embrace their anxiety along with making them comfortable in situations that can overwhelm them. Support them in every decision they make wether you think its right or wrong, however encourage them to conquer the situations where they feel uncomfortable and just be there for them!

Thank you,

Allison McKensey Handberg

 

Friends and my Anxiety

Students With Anxiety

Anxiety Disorder Information

